Natural and cultural heritage


Plan your trip


Telephone numbers of interest


Biosphere Reserves are territories whose objective is to harmonize the conservation of biological and cultural diversity and economic and social development through the relationship between people and nature.
They are established in ecologically representative areas or areas of unique value, in terrestrial, coastal and marine environments, in which the integration of the human population and its activities with conservation is essential.


UNESCO MaB Program

The People and Biosphere (MaB) Programme, initiated in the early 1970s, is a UNESCO Intergovernmental Program created with the aim of establishing a scientific basis to improve the relationship between people and their environment.

The International Secretariat of the MaB Program is located at UNESCO headquarters in Paris, and its governing body is the International Coordination Council (ICC), composed at any time, on a rotating basis, of thirty-four States, among which They are members of UNESCO.

To carry out its work on the ground, the MaB Program focuses its actions on the World Network of Biosphere Reserves, promoting the exchange of knowledge between reserves, research and monitoring, education, training and decision-making. participatory decisions.


MaB Program
in Spain

The Autonomous Agency for National Parks (OAPN) of the Ministry for the Ecological Transition and the Demographic Challenge, is in charge of coordinating the development in Spain of the UNESCO Person and Biosphere (MaB) Program.

The functions of the OAPN for the coordination of the development of the UNESCO MaB Program are established in Royal Decree 342/2007, of March 9, and Royal Decree 387/2013, of May 31, which modifies the previous . Both decrees regulate the development of the functions of the MaB program, as well as the Spanish MaB Committee, in the National Parks Autonomous Body.

The OAPN has the Secretariat of the MaB Program in Spain, which is responsible for the coordination and dynamization of the Spanish Network of Biosphere Reserves (RERB) and the Secretariat of the Spanish Committee of the MaB Program and its advisory bodies (Council of Managers and Scientific Council).


Biosphere Reserves of Galicia

Galicia has seven Biosphere Reserves that represent 35% of the territory of the Autonomous Community and have a population of about 570,000 inhabitants distributed among 86 municipalities. In the province of Lugo, more than 84% of its territory is declared a Biosphere Reserve.

  1. Terras do Miño Biosphere Reserve (Lugo) – 2002
  2. Allariz Area Biosphere Reserve (Ourense) – 2005
  3. Os Ancares Lucenses e Montes de Cervantes, Navia e Becerreá Biosphere Reserve (Lugo) – 2006
  4. Río Eo, Oscos and Terras do Burón Biosphere Reserve (Lugo) – 2007
  5. Gerês-Xurés Transfrontier Biosphere Reserve (Ourense and Portugal) – 2009
  6. Mariñas Coruñesas and Terras do Mandeo Biosphere Reserve (A Coruña) – 2013
  7. Ribeira Sacra e Serras do Oribio e Courel Biosphere Reserve (Lugo and Ourense) 2021


Biosphere Reserve


Cervantes, Navia de Suarna and Becerreá


SAC Os Ancares-Courel, SAC Cruzul-Agüeira, SPA Ancares, Brown Bear Protection Zone



Ancares Lucenses

This work was fully financed by the Next Generation funds of the European Union through the subsidy called by the Xunta de Galicia “Aid for actions by the management bodies of the biosphere reserves of Galicia under the Recovery Plan , Transformation and Resilience, financed by the European Union-NextGenerationEU, for the years 2022 and 2023.” However, the views and opinions expressed are solely those of the author(s) and do not necessarily reflect those of the European Union or the European Commission. Neither the European Union nor the European Commission is responsible for them.

This site is registered on as a development site.